Posted by: astrom36 | February 17, 2013

Happy Days

That is the show I currently want to watch.  Happy Days.

Nearly two weeks ago, my training host father called me.  Host sister was getting married and I was invited.  I was happy to go back to the training village and see everyone again.  I miss that place.  It has been 6 months since my last visit.

Sorphorn came with me to the wedding.

Here we are on our way out…

Yeah... I look good.

Yeah… I look good.

We visited a few people first then got ready.  We went with a few other PCVs, so we had a fun group.

That kid in the front is wild.

That kid in the front is wild.

Unfortunately, it was Friday.  No meat again.  I survived though.  The food was really good and there was plenty for me to eat.

Here is Sorphorn once the food was finished.

She told me to delete it.  I said no.

She told me to delete it. I said no.

My host father was running around schmoozing with guest.  Every time he would pass our table, he would yell out “goan kynom sa-at.”  My kid is beautiful.  I think he was happy I came.

Yes, I am wearing sneakers.  And yes, I do have a stain on my shirt.

Yes, I am wearing sneakers. And yes, I do have a stain on my shirt.

I finally saw the host cousin.  I haven’t seen him since I left in 2011.  He is a good kid.

And my hair is messy.

And my hair is messy.

The wedding and experience were great.  I had a lot of fun.  I was really tired from all the traveling, so Saturday was just a day to relax.  Sorphorn and I went out to eat at one of our favorite places.  What we ate is called ‘cow climbed the mountain.’  You cook it right at the table.  It is cheap and delicious.

mmm

mmm

This place doesn’t have the ‘mountain.’  Just a flat-iron.  The mountain is nice, but I think I prefer this way.

After doing very little Saturday, we went to my village on Sunday and Sorphorn met my host family.  They technically already met, but they did not fully understand that we are dating.  Dating is not a common thing to do here.

She is back with her family and my students have exams this week.  So I have nothing to do for the next few days.  Thursday, I will return to the capital for a special party.  I will talk more about that come Friday.  Let’s just say that I shined my dress shoes and found my tie.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

